RTÉ unveil contenders for Young Sportsperson and Manager of the Year – who should win?

RTÉ HAVE UNVEILED the list of contenders who have been nominated for the Young Sportsperson of the Year, and Manager of the Year for 2020.

Five top athletes have been shortlisted for the Young Sportsperson of the Year category while six names have been put forward for the Manager of the Year gong.

Snooker player Aaron Hill, who pulled off a sensational victory over six-time world champion Ronnie O’Sullivan at the European Masters, is among the nominees along with Kildare boxer Katelynn Phelan.

Mayo defender Oisín Mullin is also in the running for the Young Sportsperson award, while Limerick mountain bike star Oisín O’Callaghan and Meath darts player Keane Barry complete the shortlist.

The Manager of the Year group also contains plenty of strong candidates for the honour.

Brian Dowling is included in the list after guiding Kilkenny to a senior All-Ireland camogie title in 2020, while Dublin ladies boss Mick Bohan is also in the mix after their four-in-a-row triumph last year.

All-Ireland-winning Limerick manager John Kiely is among the other contenders along with Dublin boss Dessie Farrell, Joseph O’Brien, and Shamrock Rovers manager Stephen Bradley.

The RTÉ Sport Awards 2020 will be held on Thursday 28 January at 10.15pm on RTÉ One.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

So, who do you think should win the awards that up for grabs? Let us know your thoughts in the comment section below.

The nominees for the RTÉ Sport 2020 Manager of the Year award

🏆Brian Dowling
🏆Dessie Farrell
🏆John Kiely
🏆Joseph O'Brien
🏆Mick Bohan
🏆Stephen Bradley

Find out the winner on Thursday 28 January on @rteone

Read more here: https://t.co/uXzN4xOHAR pic.twitter.com/v2LwgWE3Pr

Click Here: rugby shirts— RTÉ Sport (@RTEsport) January 23, 2021

RTÉ Young Sportsperson of the Year Nominees
Aaron Hill 
Katelynn Phelan 
Keane Barry 
Oisín Mullin
Oisín O’Callaghan 

Manager of the Year Nominees 

Brian Dowling
Dessie Farrell
John Kiely 
Joseph O’Brien 
Mick Bohan 
Stephen Bradley 

0 thoughts on “RTÉ unveil contenders for Young Sportsperson and Manager of the Year – who should win?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *