On this day in pro wrestling history (9/9): Rhino becomes final ECW TV Champion, Dusty Rhodes wins NWA TV title

By Brian Hoops, WrestlingObserver.com


Kansas City, Kansas:
– Mongolian Stomper beat Bob Geigel 2 falls to 1
– The Ox (Ox Baker) beat Bob Brown
– Sonny Myers beat Bulldog Plechas by dq
– Jerry Miller drew Thor Hagen


Boston, Massachusetts:
– WWWF World Champion Bruno Sammartino defeated Gorilla Monsoon in a Texas Death match at the Boston Garden

Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– Dr. X beat The Crusher dq
– Ramon Torres beat Harley Race
– Larry Hennig beat Al Kashey
– Rock Rogowski (Ole Anderson) beat Big K
– Chris Markoff beat Steve Druk
– Eddie Sharkey beat Paul Caruso


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Dr X & Mad Dog Vachon

Omaha, Nebraska:
– Baron Von Raschke beat Billy Robinson in 2 out of 3 falls
– Pampero Firpo no contest Nick Bockwinkel
– Jimmy Valiant & Johnny Valiant beat Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell
– Kim Duk beat Bull Bullinski


Kansas City, Kansas: 
– The Super Intern defeated Ox Baker in a Texas Death Match
– Skip Young & Rick Gibson fought Black Gordman & Great Goliath to a double-DQ
– Harley Race defeated Bob Brown to retain the Central States Title


– Georgia Championship Wrestling held a one night tournament for the Georgia Tag Team Titles. Tony Atlas and Tommy Rich defeated Pak Song and the Executioner to win the Titles.


Allentown, Pennsylvania:
– The Samoans defeated Tony Garea & Rene Goulet in a tournament
final for the WWWF World Tag Team Title


St. Paul, Minnesota (3000 attendance):
– AWA Champion Rick Martel drew Brad Rheingans
– AWA Tag Team Champions Road Warriors beat Steve O & Jim Brunzell
– Fabulous Ones & Blackjack Lanza beat Nick Bockwinkel & Mr. Saito & Bobby Heenan in a Weasel Suit Match
– Curt Hennig beat Harley Race dq
– Larry Zbyzsko beat Tom Zenk
– Billy Robinson beat Steve Regal


Columbia, South Carolina:
– Dusty Rhodes defeated Arn Anderson for the NWA Television Title


– Shane Douglas won the ECW Heavyweight Title via forfeit from Tito Santana.


– Rhino defeated Kid Kash in Mississauga, Ontario, to become the last ECW Television Champion


TNA No Surrender: 
– Jeff Hardy beat Samoa Joe
– Bully Ray defeated James Storm
– TNA Knockouts Champion Brooke Tessmacher defeated Tara
– X Division Champion Zema Ion defeated Sonjay Dutt
– Rob Van Dam defeated Magnus
– TNA Tag Team Champions Frankie Kazarian & Christopher Daniels defeated AJ Styles & Kurt Angle
– Jeff Hardy defeated Bully Ray