Meakes free to face Stormers after SANZAAR citing

Rebels centre Billy Meakes is free to play the Stormers on Friday night after SANZAAR issued him a warning for a dangerous tackle.

Meakes was cited for a tackle on Sunwolves centre Jason Emery in the 61st minute of their clash with the Japanese side.

The hit floored Emery and though the TMO at the time deemed the incident didn’t require any action, SANZAAR’s judicial committee cited him and held a hearing on Monday night.

SANZAAR released a statement late on Tuesday confirming Meakes had only been issued a warning for the tackle, deeming that Meakes’ tackle had started below Emery’s shoulder and there was no clear contact with Emery’s head.

 “The Judicial Committee however found that the act of foul play did not meet the Red Card threshold,” the statement read.

“On review of footage not available to the citing commissioner, it was clear the initial point of contact was below the shoulder line with use of the arms in an attempted wrap. 

“The player’s shoulder rose up post the initial contact and may have contacted the neck of the tackled player although footage was inconclusive. 

“There was no evidence of contact with the head of the tackled player. 

Click Here: Crystal Palace Shop

“The citing was warranted on the evidence available to the Citing Commissioner but with the further evidence (including additional footage, player evidence and medical evidence) contact above the shoulder line was not able to be clearly demonstrated.  

“The action of the player in tackling a vulnerable opponent at the shoulder line and rising up was dangerous and as a result a Warning would be issued to the Player (under Rule 8.5).”

The Rebels take on the Stormers on Friday April 12, kicking off at 7:45pm AEDT, LIVE on FOX SPORTS, Kayo Sports and via RUGBY.com.au RADIO. Buy tickets here.

0 thoughts on “Meakes free to face Stormers after SANZAAR citing”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *